Introduction: Why am I getting an EdTech Degree?

Mug Shot

Karrie Cox

My name is Karrie Cox and I have been working in an educational library media center for years.  I had always wanted to obtain my Master’s degree in Library Information Science (MLIS), but had to wait for technology to reach a point where I could do so without having to leave the town where I live.  Recently, I finished my MLIS which was very successful in gaining all the knowledge that I needed to know for working in my chosen field; now instead of saying I know how to do it, I have the degree to back it up.

Work experience has taught me how to build strong relationships with all departments at an organization. I have the ability to work within a team as well as cross-team. I have worked with web engineers to resolve technical issues and implement technical enhancements, work with the development department to implement design and functional enhancements, and monitor site statistics and conduct search engine optimization.  I have experience with distant education, have used distant education, and recently have been part of a team to implement distant education video-streaming classes for our local community members by partnering with a north state community college.  I worked closely with educational professionals and administrators to help them provide the best possible information for their needs.  In addition, I help teachers and administrators learn to utilize our current technologies and how to use programs that will help them in their classroom teaching.  Being part of an educational teaching community, I have seen the need for online learning modules not only with Adults, but with K – 12 as well.

This is why I am working on obtaining a Master of Educational Technology degree.

This entry was posted in AECT Standards, Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

